Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

I enjoy eating bananas, however, I like them a little green.  I am not a big fan of the really ripe ones.  So sometimes, the bananas get too ripe for me by the end of the week and last time this happened, I decided to use them to make a dessert with bananas in them.

And these muffins were so good I decided to make another batch the next day and bring them in for my co-workers.  The only thing I did different with this batch was that I used sour cream instead of the pain yogurt since I didn’t have any more.  I would definitely recommend using the yogurt if you can because they were a bit moister, but sour cream can definitely be used in a pinch.

Here is the recipe I used, I got this from allrecipes.com

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 ts baking powder

1 ts baking soda

1/2 ts salt

1 egg

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 ts vanilla extract

1 cup mashed ripe banana (I did not measure but used 2 medium bananas)

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In another bowl, combine the egg, oil, yogurt and vanilla.  Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.  Fold in bananas and chocolate chips.  Fill greased or paper lined muffin cups two thirds full.  Bake at 350 for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans. 

Leave a Reply

